Autoimmune Disease Research Center

No registration required.

The 7th Annual Autoimmunity Day was held on June 10, 2005 from 8:30am - 3:30pm at the Becton Dickinson Lecture Hall, Room W1020 of Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.

Morning Session Patrizio Caturegli, Chair
8:30am Continental Breakfast in the Bloomberg Courtyard
9:00am The Autoreactive CD4+ T cell: Chance or Necessity(Gerald T. Nepom)
10:00am Interplay between T cells, Proteases and Neurons: the Neuron is the Loser (Avindra Nath)
10:30am Break
10:45am A Novel Model of Drug Hapten: Immune- Mediated Hepatitis with Autoimmune Features (Delores B. Njoku)
11:15am Zonulin and Intestinal Permeability: From Innate Immunity to Autoimmunity (Alessio Fasano)
11:45am Turning Off Immune Checkpoints to Induce Cancer Immunity: The Other Side of the Coin (Elizabeth Jaffee)
12:15pm Lunch in the Bloomberg Courtyard
Afternoon Session C. Lynne Burek, Chair
1:30pm Autoimmunity in the Central Nervous System: a Question of Milieux (Hartmut Wekerle)
2:30pm Autoimmunity and Pediatric Movement Disorders (Harvey Singer)
3:00pm Immunopathogenesis of Transverse Myelitis (Doug Kerr)
3:30pm Meeting Adjourned

Sponsored by Johns Hopkins Center for Autoimmune Disease Research, WHO/PAHO Collaborating Center for Autoimmune Disorders, and American Autoimmune Related Diseases Association. For more information please contact Kathy Spinnato at 410-955-0330 or by e-mail

Advisory Board
Scientific Board

Dr. Antony Rosen
Dr. Jonathan Schneck
Dr. Abraham Kupfer
Dr. Drew Pardoll
Dr. Neal Halsey
Dr. Stephen Desiderio
Dr. Jay Brooks Jackson
Dr. Daniel Drachman
Dr. Mark Soloski
Dr. Diane Griffin
Dr. Grant Anhalt
We are grateful for support from the American Autoimmune-Related Disease Association and Ms. Linda Otto.

Our center is also affiliated with:

Johns Hopkins School of Public Health Logo

Web site designed by Alberto Fenu and Patrizio Caturegli
Questions about autoimmunity? E-mail Dr. Caturegli