Autoimmune Disease Research Center

17th Annual Autoimmunity Day
June 5, 2015
8:00am - 4:00pm
Bloomberg School of Public Health in Becton Dickinson - W1020


Morning Session Patrizio Caturegli, MD, MPH - Moderator
8:00am - 9:00am Continental Breakfast - Anna Baetjer room - W1030
9:00am - 10:00am Keynote speaker - Dan Littman, PhD
Professor of Molecular Immunology, Dept of Pathology
Skirball Research Institute at New York University
"Role of the microbiota and the tissue microenvironment in programming of inflammatory T cells"
10:00am - 10:30am Felipe Andrade, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Medicine/Rheumatology
Johns Hopkins University, SOM
"An old dog with new tricks: How RA33 challenges the paradigm of autoantigen selection in rheumatoid arthritis"
10:30am - 11:00am Break - Light Refreshments - Anna Baetjer room - W1030
11:00am - 11:15am Short Talk - Abby Geis, Graduate Student
Immunology Training Program, SOM
Department of Dermatology, University of MD, SOM
"A [T] regulatory paradox: Priming an oncogenic inflammatory response to gut microbiota"
11:15am - 11:45am Barbara Detrick, PhD
Professor of Pathology/Immunology, Johns Hopkins University, SOM
"Breakdown of Immune Regulation in the Eye: Mechanisms of Retinal Autoimmunity"
11:45am - 12:15pm Sergei Atamas, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Medicine/Rheumatology, University of MD, SOM
"Molecular mediators of autoimmune and connective tissue interplay"
12:15pm - 1:15pm LUNCH - Anna Baetjer room - W1030
Afternoon Session Daniela Cihakova, M.D., Ph.D. - Moderator
1:15pm - 2:15pm Keynote speaker - Ulrich von Andrian
Edward Mallinckrodt Jr., Professor of Immunopathology, Division of Immunology, Dept of Microbiology & Immunobiology, Harvard University
"Career Decisions: How T cells remember pathogens"
2:15pm - 2:45pm Ellen Mowry, MD
Associate Professor of Neurology, Johns Hopkins University, SOM
"Vitamin D as a Risk and Prognostic Factor in Multiple Sclerosis: Fact or Fad?"
2:45pm - 3:15pm Break - Light Refreshments - Anna Baetjer room - W1030
3:15pm - 3:30pm Short Talk - Nicola Diny, Graduate Student
Molecular Microbiology & Immunology, BSPH
"Eosinophils in myocarditis and inflammatory dilated cardiomyopathy"
3:30pm - 4:00pm Franco D'Alessio, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine/Pulmonary, Johns Hopkins University, SOM
"Regulatory T Resolving Cells (Tres) at the Center Stage of Lung Inflammation and Repair"

Sponsored by Johns Hopkins Center for Autoimmune Disease Research, Noel R Rose Director, WHO/PAHO Collaborating Center for Autoimmune Disorders, and American Autoimmune Related Diseases Association. For more information please contact Kathy Spinnato at 410-955-0330 or by e-mail

Advisory Board
Scientific Board

Dr. Antony Rosen
Dr. Jonathan Schneck
Dr. Abraham Kupfer
Dr. Drew Pardoll
Dr. Neal Halsey
Dr. Stephen Desiderio
Dr. Jay Brooks Jackson
Dr. Daniel Drachman
Dr. Mark Soloski
Dr. Diane Griffin
Dr. Grant Anhalt
We are grateful for support from the American Autoimmune-Related Disease Association and Ms. Linda Otto.

Our center is also affiliated with:

Johns Hopkins School of Public Health Logo

Web site designed by Alberto Fenu and Patrizio Caturegli
Questions about autoimmunity? E-mail Dr. Caturegli